Starting on November 16, 2026, conversations in Discoverable Servers will be easier to find for people searching the web. Admins can choose which channels are surfaced on the web. Private servers, DMs, and GDMs are not included.
To be clear, this is really good - so much information has moved from being accessible on the open internet in the form of public forums, to being inaccessible in the form of public discord servers. This brings back that lost information.
Seriously, the amount of times the only avenue to access information has been an expired invite link is ridiculous. Anyone who doesn’t want their privacy violated should’ve got out of discord much sooner, the writing has been on the wall for years. Besides, plenty of the shit that’s currently functionally private should actually be public.
From what I’ve read it is channels that the discord server owner/admins have flagged as discoverable and then users themselves have a setting to still hide their messages.
This setting seems to be defaults to hide unless you are in the USA and then it defaults to show.
To be clear, this is really good - so much information has moved from being accessible on the open internet in the form of public forums, to being inaccessible in the form of public discord servers. This brings back that lost information.
Seriously, the amount of times the only avenue to access information has been an expired invite link is ridiculous. Anyone who doesn’t want their privacy violated should’ve got out of discord much sooner, the writing has been on the wall for years. Besides, plenty of the shit that’s currently functionally private should actually be public.
I don’t think there’s even an expectation of privacy to be had on a public discord, in open channels. Closed channels are presumably not indexed.
From what I’ve read it is channels that the discord server owner/admins have flagged as discoverable and then users themselves have a setting to still hide their messages.
This setting seems to be defaults to hide unless you are in the USA and then it defaults to show.
It will be searchable but still inaccessible.
deleted by creator
The problem is as usual that they violate everybody’s expectations as they make the change…